Kildare End Longford’s Leinster Hopes

Longford bowed out of the Leinster championship as Kildare scored an 11-point win in their quarter-final replay in O’Connor Park.

After a gripping first game last weekend it took 18 minutes for either side to register as Dublin awaited in the Leinster semi-final.

It wasn’t until the 18th minute that David McGivney opened the scoring from a ‘45’ but Kildare’s Fergal Conway replied immediately with the game’s only goal before Tommy Moolick and McGivney swapped points.


Adam Tyrrell and Neil Flynn pointed frees for Kildare but the midlanders refused to roll over just yet and Joe Hagan cancelled out Tyrrell’s point at the end of the opening period as Longford remained in touch.

Kildare leading 1-4 to four points at half-time.

Longford posted the first point after the restart, Kildare found their mojo and reeled off six points inside seven minutes through Flynn (2), Tyrrell (free), Paddy Brophy, Conway and Ben McCormack.

Darren Quinn and McGivney brought Longford back within six, 1-10 to 0-7, but Kildare turned on the style again, points from David Slattery, Flynn, Moolick and McCormack had them ten to the good at the three-quarters stage.

Flynn’s free on the hour ensured that the gap remained at ten and Niall Kelly added to the winning tally six minutes from the end, Moolick following up with his third and Keith Cribben popping up with the winners’ 18th point as they won at their ease in the end.

Kildare face Dublin in next weekend’s semi-final while Longford face Carlow in Netwatch Cullen Park at 3pm next Sunday.

Kildare: M Donnellan. M Dempsey, M O’Grady, P Kelly. D Hyland, E Doyle, K Cribbin (0-1). K Feely, F Conway (1-1). D Slattery (0-1), B McCormack (0-2), T Moolick (0-3). A Tyrrell (0-3, 2f), P Brophy (0-1), J Hyland

Subs: N Flynn (0-5, 4f) for J Hyland, N Kelly (0-1) for K Feely, C McNally for B McCormack, E O’Flaherty for P Brophy, C Healy for D Slattery, K O’Callaghan for A Tyrrell

Longford: P Collum. P Fox, D McElligott, B O’Farrell. C P Smyth, P McCormack, D Quinn (0-1), J Keegan, D McGivney (0-5, 4f). G Rogers, B McKeon, M Quinn (0-2f). D Mimnagh, J McGivney, D Doherty

Subs: A Farrell (0-1) for B McKeon, J Hagan (0-1) for D Doherty, A McElligott for G Rogers, M Hughes for J Keegan