FAI Release New First Division Fixtures

The FAI have released a new set of fixtures for the 2020 SSE Airtricity League First Division with the fixtures including Limerick FC.

Limerick’s inclusion follows an agreement to allow Pat Sullivan’s outfit to apply for a first division licence making them the 11th league team.

The league format will now see two rounds of league game and the inclusion of the first division which was last competed for in the 1997-98 season.


The new fixture list see’s the 11 teams split into two groups with Longford Town to begin their campaign on Saturday February 22nd hosting Athlone Town.

The shield will be played on a home and away basis.

The league format is set to begin on Friday March 27th with Longford Town travelling to UCD and Athlone Town hosing Wexford.

The FAI advised the fixture list is in draft and based on all clubs being granted a licence to play so therefore, it is subject to change.

You can view the new fixture list here