Dublin sink Longford Under 20’s

Longford U20 0-11

Dublin U20 2-21

Longford’s Leinster under 20 campaign got off to a sinking start as Dublin racked up a 16 point victory in Glennon Brothers Pearse Park.


Dan O’Brien, the only survivor of the Dublin side that won an All-Ireland U21 last season to start was hugely impressive all evening scoring 1-9 from play.

The hosts held a bright start as Thomas McGann sent over four first half free’s as Longford matched the Dubs in the opening exchanges.

However two goals just before the tenth minute from Tom Keane and Dan O’Brien sent Dublin on their way to a comfortable victory.

The Dubs led at half-time 2-11 to eight points, Longford’s other points coming from an Alan McKeon free and points from play from Iarla O’Sullivan, Peter Lynn and Rory Hawkins.

The second half saw full domination from Dublin as they sent over 10 points to a solidarity score from the hosts.

Meanwhile in group one Westmeath landed a 2-12 to 1-12 victory over Wexford in Mullingar. Meaning Longford must beat Wexford on bank holiday Monday to have any chance of progressing to the quarter-final.

Longford: Conor Gallagher; Kian Gilmore, Gerard Flynn, Mark McCormack (Shane Campbell 48); Cillian Lee, Michael Cahill (Daire Duggan HT), Shane Farrell (0-1); Enda Farrell (Ros Claffey 55), Cian McElligott (Ryan McHugh 46), Iarla O’Sullivan (0-1) (Ruairi Harkin (0-1) 38), Peter Lynn (0-1), Niall Farrelly; Alan McKeon (0-1, 1f),Thomas McGann, (0-5, 5f) Rory Hawkins (0-1) (Aaron McGee 60).

Dublin: David O’Hanlon; Nathan Nolan, Nathan Doran, Ciaran Smith, Kieran Kennedy (Michael Mullin 52), Neil Matthews, Eoin O’Dea (Sean Farrelly 61), Donal Ryan, Eoghan Fitzpatrick (James Holland 48), Sean Bugler (0-3), Dan O’Brien (1-9), James Madden(0-1) (Karl Lynch Bissett 58), James Doran (0-1), Cormac Howley (0-3) (Ciaran Archer (0-3, 1f 1’45) 55), Tom Keane (1-1) (Conor Hynes 36).

Referee: Niall Ward (Westmeath)