Darragh Greene Set For European SC Championship

Darragh Greene has been named as part of the Ireland team who will take part in the 2019 LEN European Short Course Championships.

11 senior and eight junior athletes have been selected for the five day event from December 4th-8th in Glasgow, Scotland.

All the team members will travelling on from these Championships to compete in the 2019 Irish SC Championships (12th – 15th December) in Dublin the following week.

Shane Ryan will be looking to emulate his performances from one year earlier where he collected a bronze medal at the World Short Course Championships in China.

Swim Ireland Swimmer of the Year Brendan Hyland also had a top 10 finish at those championships in the 200m Butterfly.

At the 2017 event in Copenhagen, Jordan Sloan and Mona McSharry were finalists with Conor Ferguson reaching a semi-final.

The Selection Policy allowed for both a Senior and Junior cohort to be selected to the Championships, with selections made from individual’s performances in their identified summer benchmark meet in relation to the IOC’s 2020 Olympic Qualifying Time.

“This event always helps athletes to gain some clarity on how their season is progressing towards the following summer” said National Performance Director Jon Rudd.

“And we all know that our Trials in April and the summer of 2020 have an extra importance this season” added Rudd.

“Our team is a blend of experience and youth, with a number of our athletes able to progress through the rounds and challenge for the podium, whilst at the same time, it is an opportunity for a number of our very promising junior athletes to start to feel their way in senior swimming as their junior years will be over and done soon and this is the swimming world in which they will need to learn to operate going forwards.”

National Senior Team Head Coach Ben Higson will lead the Irish coaching team at the Championships, with John Szaranek (National Centre Limerick), Peter Hill (Larne), Cormac Powell (National Centre Dublin), Paul Dennis (Bangor) and Bethany Carson (National Centre Dublin) formulating the remainder of the coaching team for Glasgow.

2019 LEN European SC Championships, Glasgow, Scotland – Senior Selection

Niamh Coyne – National Centre (Dublin)

Curtis Coulter – Bangor

Liam Doyle – National Centre (Limerick)

Conor Ferguson – Larne

Darragh Greene -National Centre (Dublin)

Danielle Hill – Larne

Brendan Hyland – National Centre (Dublin)

Mona McSharry – Marlins (Ballyshannon)

Cillian Melly – National Centre (Limerick)

Jordan Sloan – Bangor

Shane Ryan – National Centre (Dublin)

2019 LEN European SC Championships, Glasgow, Scotland – Junior Selection

Eoin Corby – National Centre (Limerick)

Maria Godden – Kilkenny

Paddy Johnston – Ards (Newtonards)

Amelia Kane – Ards (Newtonards)

Molly Mayne – Hamilton Aquatics

Jack McMillan – Bangor

Robert Powell – National Centre (Dublin)

Daniel Wiffen – Lisburn City