Albert Cooney Elected Longford GAA Chairperson

Rathcline’s Albert Cooney was elected new Longford GAA chairman at last night’s convention held in the Longford Arms Hotel.

The outgoing treasurer defeated Killoe’s Brid McGoldrick by 48 votes to 28. Cooney takes over from Eamon Reilly who resigned last month, having signalled his intent not to stand for the position again.

Colm Murray was elected as Leas Cathaoirleach unopposed after George McDermott withdrew his nominiation.

Carrickedmond’s Eugene Quaine beat Mostrim’s Tommy McLoughlin 47-29 in a vote for the treasurer’s position, while Colm Murray from Kenagh was elected unopposed for the vice-chairman’s position.

George McDermott was elected assistant treasurer with Eamon Brennan returned unopposed as Irish Language and culture chair.

The PRO position remains vacant after the outgoing Tommy McLoughlin decided against running. This position will be filled in 2020 per Longford GAA’s rules.