Abbeylara and Saint Columba’s Mullinalaghta make it to 2017 senior county final

Defending Champions Saint Columba’s Mullinalaghta and Abbeylara will face each other in the Peter Hanley Motors 2017 Longford Senior football championship final in a repeat of last years final.  Last weekend Saint Columba’s need two points in injury time to force a replay with Clonguish but this time they had seven points to spare and they were the winners by 0-15 to 0-08. it was the same points margin at half time as Mickey Grahams side had a 0-10 to 0-03 lead. Saint Columba’s gave themselves a foothold for the win when they ascerted their dominance from the 3rd to the 23rd minute scoring 5 unanswered points to lead by 0-07 to 0-01. The county champions got the opening score of the second half before the game went 12 minutes with a white or green flag being raised.  Mullinalaghta followed that with three more points when Clonguish opened their second half account and the score read Mullinalaghta 0-14 Clonguish 0-04 on the 51st minute. Clonguish finished stongly but couldnt get the goals needed to threaten the place in the final going to Saint Columba’s Mullinalaghta.

The winning manager Mickey Graham spoke with John Duffy after the game

Abbeylara have reached their third final in a row after a semi final that saw five goals with resulted in Abbeylara overcoming Mostrim by 3-13 to 2-12. A brilliant goal from Conor Berry in injury time secured them the win as they had been leading by just two points at that stage. Abbeylara had a three point lead at half time by 0-10 to 0-07.  Danny Brady’s Abbeylara side started the second half brightly and had a 1-12 to 0-09 lead in the 10th minute of the second half. 6 minutes later though and Mostrim had it down to 4 points when Abbeylara kicked their second goal. They were comfortably leading by 2-13 to 1-10.Mostrim fought back strongly and two minutes later they struck their second goal and the games was right in the balance until Conor Berry gained his second goal.


Fergal Battrim bagged Abbeylaras other goal while Robbie Smith and Jason Kelly made their mark on the scoreboard for Abbeylara with 0-06 and 0-04 respectively. Brian Smyth and Bernard Crawford got their other scores. Mostrims goals came through David Morgan and Brian Farrell while they also added 0-03 and 0-02 each. Darragh Doherty struck 0-04 and Cillan Lynn got 0-03. Abbeylara manager Danny Brady

It’ll now be a fascinating Peter Hanley Motors Longford senior football final between Abbeylara and Saint Columbas Mullinalaghta