SFAI Umbro Kennedy Cup: Sligo-Leitrim side defeated in Final

The Dublin and District Schoolboys League claimed the SFAI Umbro Kennedy Cup after a two-nil win over Sligo-Leitrim in front of a big crowd at the University of Limerick.Two first half goals sealed the result, arriving via the boot of Roland Banya and an unfortunate own goal.

Despite the fight back in the second period, the brilliant backline of Garreth Dodrill’s charges stood firm. Having yet to concede a goal in the tournament, DDSL were heavy favourites going into this tie and they went a goal ahead after just four minutes. The dangerous Val Adeedokun looked up to see the Sligo-Leitrim defence tuck in, before delivering a clever cross-field switch into the path of right winger Roland Banya.  The tricky number six took a touch inside onto his left boot and fired a curling effort from the edge of the eighteen yard box. Sligo-Leitrim ‘keeper Kayle Wasjszczuk almost kept the shot out, but it found its way into the bottom corner.

Just as the clock was ticking towards half time, the DDSL won a corner. The delivery wasn’t cleared properly and found its way to the feet of Belvedere’s Ben McCormack.


The midfielder aimed to cross into the far post, but a deflection off the boot of a Sligo-Leitrim defender directed it back across Wasjszczuk.

Led by the brilliant William Chelaru, DDSL kept another clean sheet – ensuring the Dublin outfit maintained a perfect defensive record over the five days.

Sligo-Leitrim: Kayle Wasjszczuk (Merville Utd); Dylan Walsh (Gurteen Celtic), Luke Casserly (Benbulben), Peter Maguire (Manorhamilton Rangers), Josh Mulrennan (Ballisodare Utd); Canice Mulligan (Strand Celtic), Sean McAteer (Merville Utd), Paul Mahon (Ballisodare Utd), Luke Moran (Merville Utd), Cailan Barlow (Merville Utd); John Kenny (Arrow Harps).

DDSL: Morgan Rice (Crumlin Utd); Gavin O’Brien (St Kevin’s Boys), William Chelaru (Cherry Orchard), Adam Wells (Crumlin Utd), Len O’Sullivan (St Kevin’s Boys); Bosun Lawal (St Kevin’s Boys), Jeff Nwodo (Malahide Utd); Roland Banya (St Kevin’s Boys), Ben McCormack (Belvedere), Val Adeedokun (Malahide Utd); Conan Noonan (St Kevin’s Boys).