Quarter-Final line up completed for Leitrim senior football championship

The final round of matches in the Leitrim senior football championship were concluded over the weekend.  The new championship structure that was deployed in 2017 seems to have worked with the majority of the matches on the final day of group action having plenty riding on it.

The big surprise perhaps came from section “B” where St Patrick’s Dromahair recovered from a terrible start to the competition to eventually secure their place in the last eight of the competition.

While there was celebrations for Dromahair in reaching the business end of the competition there was major disappointment for Annaduff, who were defeated by St Patrick’s in the final round of the competition.  Bornacoola were also defeated by Drumreilly and they too must now turn their attentions on attempting to preserve their senior status.

The quarter-finals of the championship will be played next weekend and there are some cracking games to look forward to.  St Mary’s against Melvin Gales will be very competitive while there is a repeat of the 2016 County football final when Glencar Manorhamilton will take on Aughawillan.

Drumreilly have shown remarkable character in reaching the quarter-finals and they will face a massive challenge against the 2015 winners Mohill.  While the 2016 Intermediate winners Sean O’Heslins will face Dromahair.

The full list of results from over the weekend in the Leitrim senior football championship:

Group 1:

Aughawillan 4-13 Gortletteragh 0-11;

Allen Gaels 2-4 Mohill 0-21;

Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s 2-13 Melvin Gaels 0-12

Group 2:

Glencar/Manorhamilton 0-10 St. Mary’s Kiltoghert 0-10;

Annaduff 0-10 St. Patrick’s Dromahair 3-13;

Bornacoola 1-7 Drumreilly 2-10


Confirmation of the Quarter-final line up



St. Mary’s Kiltoghert              V                          Melvin Gaels

Glencar/Manorhamilton        V                          Aughawillan

Drumreilly                                        V                          Mohill

St. Patrick’s Dromahair                   V                 Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s