Morahan Plays in Win Over Russia

Leitrim Village’s Niall Morahan  played for the Republic of Ireland Under-19’s in their two nil win over Russia in Krasnodar.

The game was part of their UEFA Under-19 European Championships qualification Elite Round.

Former Carrick Town player and current Sligo Rovers midfielder Morahan played the full game for Tom Mohan’s side.


Defender Mark McGuinness scored on the stroke of half-time to give Ireland the lead, and the three points were gauranteed on the hour-mark as Ali Reghba found the back of the net.

With wins over Bosnia and Herzegovina, Faroe Islands and the Netherlands in the Qualifying Round, and Romania, Azerbaijan and Russia in the Elite Round, Ireland are the only side to win six games from six en route to the Tournament Finals in Armenia, in July.

Ireland were the first team to qualify for the Finals, and are the only team in Europe to do so with a 100% record.

Speaking after the game, Head Coach Tom Mohan was proud of the effort put in by his team today.

“We made a lot of changes of today. There were nine changes from the team on Saturday. It was a great opportunity to give fresh players a chance. They were hungry to impress and wanting to prove themselves. It’s proven to be a really strong group effort this week.”

Mohan praised the efforts of all the players’ coaches at all levels that have helped the squad develop throughout the years.

“To the people that have worked with these players as children, right through to where they are today, it’s a fantastic night for them and for everyone involved with the players.”

Russia: Maksim Borisko; Aleksandr Mikhailov (Artem Giurdzhan 46), Ilya Martynov, Pavel Maslov, Rail Abdullin; Vladimir Moskvichev, Danila Yanov, Vladislav Karapuzov (Dmitri Molchanov 46), Nail Umyarov; Rustam Khalnazarov (Danila Proshliakov 46), Gamid Agalarov (Ilya Gomanyuk 46)

Republic of Ireland: George McMahon; Tom Gaston, Oisin McEntee, Mark McGuinness, Luca Connell (Tyreik Wright 61); Niall Morahan, Conor Grant (Jason Knight 82), Aaron Bolger (capt); Festy Ebosele (Jonathan Afolabi 68), Ali Reghba, Richard O’Farrell (Will Smallbone 82)