The Magnificent Seven to gun down Wicklow.

The Leitrim senior football team to play Wicklow on Sunday in the opening round of the Allianz football league, Division four will feature seven players making their National League debuts.

The new look side has been selected by manager Brendan Guckian who also feels that there will be enough of experience in the side to try and gain revenge on the Leinster based side that have defeated Leitrim in the last two league meetings.
There is very much a new look to the Leitrim for Sunday’s game in Aughrim with brothers Mary and Gary Plunkett from the county champions Aughawilln getting the nod for the first time in a league match.  Also being handed starts for the first time are  Alan Armstrong, Fionn Carney, Oisin Madden, Ryan O’Rourke and the impressive Keith Beirne.

The selection of a team skipper for 2017 has all the hallmarks of a long term selection with Donal Wrynn be chosen to wear the captain’s armband.
The team selection also reflects that he management team have looked not just at the senior club championships in Leitrim for players with the 2016 Leitrim Intermediate football champions providing no fewer than four players Sunday’s starting team. Sean O’Heslin’s will be well represented with Philip Farrelly, Matthew Murphy, Shane Moran and Wayne McKeon all being selected.

The senior league champions Mohill have three players named and indeed all three are making their national league debuts – Oisin Madden, Alan Armstrong and Keith Beirne. Injury has ruled regular defender Roan Gallagher out of the fixture.

The Leitrim teams will line out on Sunday as follows:

1 Philip Farrelly (Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s)

2 Matthew Murphy (Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s)

3 Alan Armstrong (Mohill)

4 Fionn Carney (St. Sylvesters)

5 James Rooney (Glencar/Manorhamilton)

6 Donal Wrynn (Fenagh St. Caillin’s)

7 Oisin Madden (Mohill)

8 Shane Moran (Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s)

9 Mark Plunkett (Aughawillan)

10 Gary Plunkett (Aughawillan)

11 Wayne McKeon (Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s)

12 Ryan O’Rourke (Fenagh St. Caillin’s)

13 Emlyn Mulligan (St. Brigid’s)

14 Keith Beirne (Mohill)

15 Brendan Gallagher (Lucan Sarsfields)


In advance of Sunday’s game, John Lynch has been speaking to the Leitrim manager Benny Guickan.