Leitrim Score Qualifier Victory Over Wicklow

Ryan O’Rourke registered seven points as Leitrim scored a two point victory over Wicklow in the first round of the qualifiers.

Leitrim victorious by 13 points to 15 as Wicklow goalkeeper Mark Jackson found seven points, including two from the dead ball.

There was nothing between the sides at the break as they stood at seven points apiece, the lead regularly changed hands.


The first-half finished with the sides deadlocked on 0-7 apiece but the hosts enjoyed the better of the second-half exchanges by eight points to six.

Ryan O’Rourke’s four frees were all on target while Jackson was the only Wicklow player on target during that period.

Wicklow regrouped and responded strongly and with 15 minutes remaining the sides were level at 0-11 apiece.

However, it was to be the home side who finished stronger with O’Rourke, Dolan and Paddy Maguire among those who stood out for Leitrim.

Leitrim now enter Monday mornings draw for the second round of the qualifiers.

Leitrim: Cathal McCrann, Paddy Maguire (0-1), Micheal McWeeney, Aidan Flynn, Conor Reynolds, Mark Plunkett, Raymond Mulvey (0-1), Oisin McCaffrey, Shane Moran, Domhnaill Flynn (0-1), Sean McWeeney, Shane Quinn (0-1), Evan Sweeney, Pearce Dolan (0-3), Ryan O’Rourke (0-7, 4f)

Subs: Dean McGovern for McCaffrey (BC, 34), Niall Brady (0-1) for Sweeney (60), Oisin Madden for Reynolds (64), Gary Plunkett for McWeeney (65), Noel Plunkett for Quinn (70)

Wicklow: Mark Jackson (0-7, 5f, 2 45′), Eoin Murtagh, Ross O’Brien, Jamie Snell, David Devereaux, Shane Mooney, Daragh Fitzgerald, Dean Healy (0-1), Padraig O’Toole (0-1), Rory Finn (0-2, 2f), Darren Hayden, Theo Smith, Mark Kenny (0-1, f), Chris O’Brien, Patrick O’Connor.

Subs: Conor Healy (0-1) for Devereaux (44), Darren Hayden for McLoughlin (71), Daniel Keane for O’Connor (71), Oisin Manning for Mooney (65), Conor McGraynor for Smith (69).

Referee: Barry Cassidy (Derry)