Leitrim Lose Penalty Shootout to Mayo

Leitrim were on the receiving end of the first ever Gaelic football penalty shootout as Mayo progressed 4-1 on penalty kicks in today’s FBD League Quarter-Final.

Evan Regan converting the winning kick for Mayo after a brilliant Leitrim comeback saw them claw back an eight point deficit in the second half to earn a 2-13 to 2-13 draw.

Pearce Dolan sent over two early points giving Leitrim an early 0-3 to 0-1 advantage. Mayo then struck goals in quick succession, Brian Reape weaving through the defence to blast to the top corner for the first.

Fergal Boland got on the end of a powerful surge by Donal Vaughan to smash into the net also. Mayo continued in the ascendency until the half-time break leading 2-9 to eight poins.

Evan Regan and new comers Colm Moran and Fionn McDonagh landing nice scores for them in this period.

10 minutes into the second half the game flipped on its head with two Leitrim goals from the impressive Evan Sweeney and sub Ryan O’Rourke stunning Mayo.

Domhnaill Flynn levelled the scores minutes later, and they would go on to trade points until the final whistle, with Damien Moran levelling the game and forcing the penalty shootout with his last gasp score.

Captain Jason Doherty, Brian Reape, Man of the match Fergal Boland and Evan regan all converted their kicks to win the shootout 4-1 in-front of a big Avantcard Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada crowd.

Leitrim: Diarmuid McKiernan, Paddy Maguire, Fergal McTague, Aidan Flynn, Conor Reynolds, Ray Mulvey, Shane Quinn (0-1), Dean McGovern (0-1), Shane Moran (0-1), Sean McWeeney, Cillian McGloin (0-1), Jack Heslin (0-2), Evan Sweeney (1-3, 0-2fs), Pearce Dolan (0-2), Domhnaill Flynn (0-1f) SUBS M Plunkett, R O’Rourke (1-0), G Plunkett, D Moran (0-1) D Rooney

Mayo: Rob Hennelly (0-1 0-1’45), Eoin O’Donoghue (0-1), Ger Cafferkey, Brendan Harrison, Lee Keegan, James McCormack, Donal Vaughan, Seamie O’Shea, Stephen Coen, Fionn McDonagh (0-1), Jason Doherty (0-3 0-3fs), Fergal Boland (1-3), Colm Moran (0-1), Brian Reape(1-1), Evan Regan (0-2, 0-1f).SUBS C Crowe, J Kelly, B Doyle, O McLaughlin, C Tracey