Leitrim Become 2019 Lory Meagher Cup Champions

It’s a historic day for Leitrim GAA as the county claimed the Lory Meagher Cup after an epic extra-time win over Lancashire in the final in Croke Park.

Leitrim went into the first-half interval 1-10 to 1-07 ahead. Colm Moreton with Leitrim’s goal while Ronan Crowley hit the net for Lanchasire.

Lancashire had one hand on the trophy when leading by three points in the second-half injury-time of normal time. The exiles getting the better of the half courtesy of seven points in a row.

Leitrim had other ideas and James Glancy buried the ball to the net to bring the game to extra-time and two further ten minutes of action. The score at this stage left it Letirim 2-16 Lanchashire 1-19.

Leitrim carried that momentum forward and Gavin O’Hagan scored two frees with Colm Moreton and sub Zak Moradi also hitting the target. It was an impressive performance from O’Hagan getting nine points in the contest.

Patrick Duggan struck a late goal for Lanchashire but it was to be Leitrim’s day.

Leitrim compete in the Nicky Rackard Cup next season.

Shannonside FM’s Darren Mulvey headed into the dressing room after the game and got the jubilant reaction of James Glancy, Kevin McGrath and Liam Moreton.