Galway beat Leitrim to make Connacht final

Galway continued the defence of their Connacht title with a 1-12 to two points win over Leitrim at Elphin writes Michael Cooke.

Leitrim only trailed by four points to one at the interval but a period of champagne football from the Tribesmen in the early stages of the second half laid the foundation for a convincing win.

A 17th minute free from Oisin McLoughlin was Leitrim’s only score of the first half putting a solitary point between the sides.

Jack Glynn and Matthew Tierney later added a point each for Galway giving them a three-point lead at the break.

Leitrim would only score one more point in the match with Tom Prior firing over a beauty in the 36th minute

The reigning champions played mesmerising football in the opening stages of the second period scoring 1-5 from play in the space of 17 minutes.

Cathal Sweeney slotted over three points while Cian Monaghan and Conor Raftery also chipped in with a point each before a 47th minute goal from Matthew Cooley gave Galway a ten-point buffer.

Ryan Monahan, Paul Kelly and Eoin Mannion subsequently got their names on the scoresheet embellishing the margin from Galway’s perspective.

Roscommon are now the only team that can deny Galway a second successive Connacht title following a victory over Sligo in the other semi-final last week.