Enda Moreton And James Clancy Make Champions 15

Leitrim’s Enda Moreton and James Glancy have both been confirmed as part of the Champions 15 team for 2019.

The best hurlers from the 2019 Ring, Rackard and Meagher Cups will be honoured at a banquet in Dublin this evening along with the All-Stars hurlers and footballers.

The selection features seven players who competed in the Ring Cup, five who contested the Rackard Cup and three who featured in the Meager Cup.


Ring Cup winners Meath and Rackard Cup Champions Sligo lead the way claiming three places each on the 15-man selection.

Down’s run to the Ring Cup final is rewarded with places for Daithí Sands and Caolan Taggart while Meagher Cup winners Leitrim are honoured with spots for Enda Moreton and James Glancy.

The remaining positions go to Armagh, Tyrone, Derry, Wicklow and Lancashire.

The Player of the Year Winners have also been confirmed.

Paddy Purcell of Laois (McDonagh Cup), Meath’s Jack Regan (Ring Cup), Keith Raymond of Sligo (Rackard Cup) and Lancashire’s Ronan Crowley (Meagher Cup) are all singled out for personal accolades on the back of excellent campaigns.

“Tonight’s event is the big awards night in the GAA’s inter-county calendar” said GAA President John Horan.

“I laud the contribution of all of the players who competed in our championships this year, but especially those who set the standard and who will be honoured this evening.”

“The players on the Champions 15 shortlist led the way and the respective roles they played in their counties’ campaigns is one of the stand-out features about the tiered approach we have to our hurling competitions.”

“Well done to them all and best of luck in your future pursuit of silverware” added Horan

Champion 15 Team 2019

1: Simon Doherty (Armagh) – Nickey Rackard Cup

2: Caolan Taggart (Down) – Christy Ring Cup

3: Keith Keoghan (Meath) – Christy Ring Cup

4: Enda Moreton (Leitrim) – Lory Meagher Cup

5: James Weir (Sligo) – Nickey Rackard Cup

6: James Glancy (Leitrim) – Lory Meagher Cup

7: John Henderson (Wicklow) – Christy Ring Cup

8: Keith Raymond (Sligo) – Nickey Rackard Cup

9: Sean Geraghty (Meath) – Christy Ring Cup

10: Jack Regan (Meath) – Christy Ring Cup

11: Gerard O’Kelly Lynch (Sligo) – Nickey Rackard Cup

12: Damian Casey (Tyrone) – Nickey Rackard Cup

13: Dáithi Sands (Down) – Christy Ring Cup

14: Ronan Crowley (Lancashire) – Lory Meagher Cup

15: Sé McGuigan (Derry) – Christy Ring Cup

Player of the Year

Joe McDonagh Cup

Paddy Purcell – Laois

Christy Ring Cup

Jack Regan – Meath

Nickey Rackard Cup

Keith Raymond – Sligo

Lory Meagher Cup

Ronan Crowley – Lancashire