Leitrim supporters club to honour Railway Cup trio

Columba Cryan, Packy McGarty and Cathal Flynn are to be honoured by Leitrim supporters club 60 years after winning Railway Cup medals.

The Dublin branch of the Leitrim supporter’s club launch takes place in Croke Park on Thursday week January 18th.

This year’s gathering includes a special recognition by the Leitrim Supporters’ Club of the three Leitrim legends who 60 years ago won Railway Cup Medals in 1958.


Columba Cryan, Packy McGarty and Cathal Flynn all played for Leitrim in the most talked about game of them all, the famous 1958 Connacht Final v Galway.

Leitrim senior team manager Benny Guckian will outline his plans for the year ahead while county chairperson Terrence Boyle will offer an update on all Leitrim GAA activities.

The night will conclude with a special performance from Garadice and special guest on the night will be commentator Marty Morrissey.

Former Leitrim footballer Colin Regan joined Kevin McDermott on Sportsbeat to discuss the event and the upcoming season for Leitrim.