Joe McQuillan to referee All Ireland football final

The GAA has confirmed the referees and match officials for the 2017 GAA Football All-Ireland Senior and Minor Championship finals on September 17 at Croke Park. Cavan’s Joe McQuillan has been confirmed as the referee for the senior final, while Anthony Nolan from Wicklow will officiate in the Electric Ireland Minor Final between Kerry and Derry.

From the Kill Shamrocks club in Cavan, the Dublin v Mayo decider will be Joe McQuillan’s third Senior Final having previously taken charge of the 2011 and 2013 Finals.

Joe has also refereed the All-Ireland Under 21 final in 2006, All Ireland Senior Club final 2008, three Leinster Finals, one Munster Final and two Ulster Finals.

In this year’s Football Championship, Joe has refereed the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final between Roscommon and Mayo, Ulster Senior Football Final between Tyrone and Down, Leinster Senior football Semi-Final between Meath and Kildare, and the Connacht Senior Football Semi-Final between Galway and Mayo.

“It is great honour, with two big teams in it, so I’m just delighted,” McQuillan told “I found out this morning. I knew I was on the shortlist, but until you get the phone call you are still never sure who is going to do it.”

McQuillan’s umpires on the day will be Ciarán Brady, TP Gray (all Kill Shamrocks), Jimmy Galligan (Killygarry) and Mickie Lee (Drumalee).

Cork’s Conor Lane will be the standby referee. The other linesman is Padraig O’Sullivan (Kerry) and the Sideline official will be Niall Cullen (Fermanagh).

Anthony Nolan, who will be officiating the Minor final, is a member of the Baltinglass club.

In this year’s football championship, Anthony has refereed the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final Replay between Roscommon & Mayo and Round 4A fixture between Galway & Donegal, Leinster Senior Football Final between Dublin & Kildare and Round 1 Qualifier between Laois & Longford, Connacht Senior Football Championship between Roscommon & Leitrim. Also Anthony has refereed the Allianz Football League Division 3 Final between Louth and Tipperary.

His umpires on the day will be Damien Byrne (Kiltegan), Donal O’Keefe (Annacurra), Peter Case (Donard/Glen) and Patrick Doyle (Rathnew).

Mayo’s Jerome Henry will be the standby referee, the other linesman is James Molloy (Galway) and the Sideline Official will be Martin McNally (Monaghan).

17.09.2017 (Sun)
GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Final
Áth Cliath v Maigh Eo RTÉ/SKY Sports
Páirc an Chrócaigh, 15.30

Referee: Joe McQuillan (An Cabhán)
Stand By: Conor Lane (Corcaigh)
Linesman: Padraig O’Sullivan (Ciarraí)
Sideline: Niall Cullen (Fear Manach)
Umpires: Ciarán Brady, TP Gray (both Kill Shamrocks), Jimmy Galligan (Killygarry) and Mickie Lee (Drumalee).
Hawk Eye Officials: Dickie Murphy (Loch Garman)

Electric Ireland GAA Football All-Ireland Minor Championship Final
Ciarraí v Doire TG4
Páirc an Chrócaigh, 13.15

Referee: Anthony Nolan (Cill Mhantáin)
Stand By: Jerome Henry (Maigh Eo)
Linesman: James Molloy (Gaillimh)
Sideline: Martin McNally (Muineachán)
Umpires: Damien Byrne (Kiltegan), Donal O’Keefe (Annacurra), Peter Case (Donard/Glen) & Patrick Doyle (Rathnew).
Hawk Eye Official: Noel O’Donoghue (Áth Cliath)