Toner Set For 221st Leinster Apperance

Devin Toner is set to make his 221st appearance for Leinster and move into third in the all-time appearance list

Leinster travel to Connacht on Saturday afternoon as they top conference B in the Guinness Pro 14 with 16 points. Connacht have collected 11 points from their opening four matches.

Leo Cullen has kept faith with a lot of the players which beat Edinburgh in the RDS Arena last weekend, but welcomes back a number of players including Seán O’Brien onto the bench from injury.


Rob Kearney comes in to the number 15 jersey with Jordan Larmour moving to the right wing from full back as a result. James Lowe continues on the left wing.

Joe Tomane partners Garry Ringrose in the centre for the first time with Luke McGrath and captain Johnny Sexton.

Cian Healy, Seán Cronin and Tadhg Furlong are selected in the front row.

Meath’s Devin Toner moves into third on the all-time Leinster appearance list, together with Leo Cullen, as he gets set to make his 221st appearance in blue.

Toner and Cullen on 221 are behind Jamie Heaslip on 229 and Gordon D’Arcy on 261 caps for Leinster Rugby.

Australian international Scott Fardy joins Toner in the second row. Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier and Jack Conan complete the starting XV for Leo Cullen.

51 times Ireland capped Seán O’Brien is on the bench and in line for his first game since last April against Benetton Rugby.

Leinster: Rob Kearney, Jordan Larmour, Garry Ringrose, Joe Tomane, James Lowe, Johnny Sexton (c), Luke McGrath, Cian Healy, Seán Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Devin Toner, Scott Fardy, Rhys Ruddock, Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan
Replacements: James Tracy, Ed Byrne, Andrew Porter, Ross Molony, Seán O’Brien, Nick McCarthy, Ross Byrne, Rory O’Loughlin
Connacht v Leinster
The Sportsgrounds
Saturday September 29
Kick-off: 5:15

Referee: John Lacey (IRFU)