Shelbourne Seal First Division Title

Shelbourne secured the SSE Airtricity League first division championship with a 3-1 win over Drogheda United.

Shels had taken the lead via Aidan Friel on 56 minutes, with a low drive from the edge of the box after Drogheda’s Sean Brennan had seen red.

Luke McNally levelled the game on 77 minutes but Oscar Brennan’s volley four minutes later restored Shels lead.

Lorcan Fitzpatrick sealed the title for Shels with a minute remaining as he forced the ball home past a hesitant Drogheda defence.

The win see’s Shels seal the title and return to the premier division for the first time since 2013. While Longford Town can take second place in the table if they win their last two games and Drogheda slip up against Bray Wanderers.

Meanwhile Cabinteely secured a play-off place with a straight forward 3-1 win over Athlone Town as Kieran Marty Waters struck twice and Rob Manley found the net inside 30 minutes.

Nika Kalandarishvili got one back for Athlone just after the restart.

Elsewhere Limerick scored a 4-1 win over Wexford thanks to goals from Karl O’Sullivan, Adam Foley, Lee Devitt Molloy and an own goal from Shane Tracy. Sean Roche got Wexford a late consolation goal.

While Galway scored a 7-1 win over Cobh Ramblers thanks to four goals from Marc Ludden and one each from Stephen Walsh, Conor Berry and Conor Melody.

Cian Leonard had given Cobh the lead as Stephen O’Leary and Kevin Taylor both saw red.