Sexton Returns To Ireland Team For Scotland Game

Andy Farrell has made six changes to the Ireland team for the Autumn Nations Cup third place playoff with Scotland.

Jonathan Sexton, Robbie Henshaw and Bundee Aki all return to the starting 15.

The uncapped Ulster Rugby prop Eric O’Sullivan, who was called up to Andy Farrell’s squad in recent weeks, is set to make his Ireland debut as he is named amongst the replacements for the Play-Off game.

Johnny Sexton returns to captain the side and is re-united with Conor Murray at half-back. Robbie Henshaw also returns to line out at inside centre with his old provincial partner Bundee Aki at outside centre.

The back three is unchanged from last weekend’s win over Georgia, with Jacob Stockdale at fullback and Keith Earls and Hugo Keenan on the wings.

Up front, Cian Healy packs down alongside Rob Herring and Andrew Porter. James Ryan and Iain Henderson continue in the second row and the back row is made up of Peter O’Mahony, CJ Stander and Caelan Doris.

O’Sullivan is joined on the replacements bench by Ronan Kelleher, John Ryan, Quinn Roux and Josh van Der Flier, while Jamison Gibson Park, Ross Byrne and Chris Farrell provide the back line cover.

Ireland: Jacob Stockdale, Hugo Keenan, Bundee Aki, Chris Farrell, Robbie Henshaw, Keith Earls, Jonathan Sexton (C),  Conor Murray,  Cian Healy, Rob Herring, Andrew Porter, Iain Henderson, James Ryan, CJ Stander, Peter O’Mahony, Caelan Doris

Ireland v Scotland

2020 Guinness Series & Autumn Nations Cup

Aviva Stadium

Saturday, December 5, kick-off: 2:15 pm