McCarthy Names Amond In First Squad

Mick McCarthy has handed Padraig Amond his first senior call-up for the UEFA EURO 2020 qualifiers away to Gibraltar and home to Georgia.

First up is a trip to Gibraltar on Saturday, March 23 to play at Victoria Stadium before returning to Dublin for a home game in Aviva Stadium against Georgia on Tuesday, March 26.

McCarthy has included in his provisional squad first senior call-ups for Bournemouth goalkeeper Mark Travers, Newport County striker Padraig Amond and Luton Town forward James Collins, who have all represented Ireland at underage level.


Both Travers and Liverpool shot-stopper Caoimhin Kelleher will also be part of Stephen Kenny’s Under-21 squad for their qualifier against Luxembourg on Sunday, March 24 in Tallaght Stadium.

McCarthy will then have the option to draft them into the senior squad ahead of the Georgia game.

Keiren Westwood, Stephen Ward, Aiden McGeady, James McCarthy, Glenn Whelan, and David McGoldrick, also earn recalls following a period away from the international set-up.

Injury has ruled out Newcastle United’s Ciaran Clark, Preston North End’s Callum Robinson, Burnley’s Jonathan Walters, and Southampton’s Michael Obafemi.

The squad will be finalised ahead of the ‘3’ FAI International Awards on Sunday, March 17 with the players undergoing their first session at the FAI National Training Centre on Monday, March 18.

Republic of Ireland Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Kieran O’Hara (Macclesfield Town*), Mark Travers (Bournemouth)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Richard Keogh (Derby County), John Egan (Sheffield United), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kevin Long (Burnley), Jimmy Dunne (Sunderland*), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), Derrick Williams (Blackburn Rovers), Stephen Ward (Burnley)

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Sunderland), Alan Judge (Ipswich Town), James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Harry Arter (Cardiff City*), Glenn Whelan (Aston Villa), David Meyler (Coventry City*), Shaun Williams (Millwall), Robbie Brady (Burnley), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), James McClean (Stoke City), Daryl Horgan (Hibernian)

Forwards: Shane Long (Southampton), Sean Maguire (Preston North End), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth), Scott Hogan (Sheffield United*), Aiden O’Brien (Millwall), David McGoldrick (Sheffield United), James Collins (Luton Town), Padraig Amond (Newport County)