James Collins Called Into Ireland Squad

Luton Town striker James Collins, Fulham defender Cyrus Christie and Burton Albion goalkeeper Kieran O’Hara have been called into the Ireland squad for Thursday’s EURO 2020 qualifier against Switzerland.

The trio replace the injured Sean Maguire (eye), Matt Doherty (knee) and Keiren Westwood (knee) for the Dublin double-header with Switzerland and Bulgaria at the Aviva Stadium.

Crystal Palace midfielder James McCarthy is also out of the two games after his first call-up from manager Mick McCarthy.


“I have spoken at length to James [McMcCarthy]. He has recently moved to Crystal Palace and is only back playing,” said Ireland manager McCarthy.

“James is completely free of injury but the intensity of the Switzerland game was always going to be too much for James and we discussed that” added the Ireland manager.

“Like James, Keiren Westwood will work away now at his club and we will see how they are before we go to Georgia and Switzerland next month.”

Preston North End striker Maguire suffered a freak injury when he was struck in the face by a ball at training last week and missed Saturday’s draw at Nottingham Forest, while Doherty was left out of the squad for Wolverhampton Wanderers’ visit to Everton on Sunday with a knee injury.

“It is hard on the four players to miss out for a game as big as the Switzerland match,” added manager McCarthy. “We have a 24-strong squad now with James, Cyrus and Kieran coming in and we will get to work on Monday.”

The Ireland squad assembled at the team base in Dublin on Sunday afternoon and will begin training at the FAI National Training Centre on Monday.

Republic of Ireland Squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph (Middlesbrough), Mark Travers (Bournemouth), Kieran O’Hara (Burton Albion – on loan from Manchester United)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Richard Keogh (Derby County), John Egan (Sheffield United), Kevin Long (Burnley), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United)

Midfielders: Alan Judge (Ipswich Town), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), Alan Browne (Preston North End), Jack Byrne (Shamrock Rovers), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Glenn Whelan (Hearts), Josh Cullen (Charlton Athletic – on loan from West Ham United), James McClean (Stoke City), Ronan Curtis (Portsmouth)

Forwards: Callum Robinson (Sheffield United), James Collins (Luton Town), Scott Hogan (Stoke City – on loan from Aston Villa), David McGoldrick (Sheffield United)

September 5

EURO 2020 Qualifier: Republic of Ireland v Switzerland, Aviva Stadium, KO 19:45

September 10

Three International Friendly: Republic of Ireland v Bulgaria, Aviva Stadium, KO 19:45