Henshaw Moves To Centre For New Zealand

Rob Kearney, Peter O’Mahony and Garry Ringrose will return for Ireland’s Rugby World Cup quarter-final against New Zealand in Tokyo on Saturday.

Robbie Henshaw moves to inside centre, as Bundee Aki’s tournament is now over due to suspension.

Kearney missed the Samoa game due to a groin injury, but coach Joe Schmidt has gone for the tried and trusted, picking the experienced Leinster full-back ahead of the in-form Jordan Larmour.


Rory Best captains the side with Cian Healy and Tadgh Furlong joining him in the front row.

Iain Henderson and James Ryan are named at lock with Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander in the backrow.

Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton are the halfback partnership with Robbie Henshaw and Garry Ringrose in the centre. Rob Kearney is named at fullback with Keith Earls and Jacob Stockdale on the wings.

The replacements for Saturday’s game are Niall Scannell, Dave Kilcoyne, Andrew Porter, Tadgh Beirne, Rhys Ruddock, Luke McGrath, Joey Carbery and Jordan Larmour.

Ireland Team
15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)
12. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster)
11. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster)
10. Jonathan Sexton (St Marys College/Leinster)
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) Captain
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)
4. Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster)
5. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster)
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)
7. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)
8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster)
16. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster)
17. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)
18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster)
19. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster)
20. Rhys Ruddock (St Mary’s College/Leinster)
21. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)
22. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Munster)
23. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster)
Ireland v New Zealand
Quarter-final RWC19
Tokyo Stadium,
Saturday 19th October, 2019 (KO: 19.15 / 11.15 Irish Time)