Cavan and Tipperary Land Shock Titles

Cavan are Ulster champions for the first time since 1997 following a 1-13 to 12 points win over Donegal at the Athletic Grounds in Armagh.

Mickey Graham’s side trailed nine points to seven at half-time and were a point up heading into injury time before a goal from Conor Madden sealed the Anglo Celt cup.

The opening quarter was evenly contested with the teams deadlocked at five points apiece at the first water break.

The reigning champions subsequently gained the upper hand and a point by Michael Langan made it nine points to six in the 22nd minute.

Five minutes later Gearoid McKiernan got his name on the scoresheet leaving two points between the sides at the interval.

Cavan almost took the lead nine minutes into the second half only for James Smith missing a goal scoring opportunity.

A minute later he made amends by slotting over a score reducing the margin to single point.

Cavan then drew level when Martin Reilly made it 11 points each on the hour mark and finished the game stronger outscoring Donegal 1-2 to a point thereafter

A late goal from Conor Madden sealed the victory and Cavan can now look forward to playing six-in-row chasing Dublin in the All-Ireland semi-final on December fifth.

Elsewhere, for the first time since 1935 Tipperary are the Munster Senior Football Champions.

They beat Cork 17 points to 14 at Páirc Uí Chaoimh this afternoon, on the 100th Anniversary of Bloody Sunday.

Tipp Captain Conor Sweeney sent seven points through the posts, in a man of the match performance, will face Mayo on December sixth in the second All-Ireland semi-final.