Appiah-Kondau, O’Donnell & O’Rourke For European Games

Athlete’s Nelvin Appiah-Kondau, Gerard O’Donnell and boxer Aoife O’Rourke have all been selected on the Irish team for the European Games.

The second European Games second place in Minsk, Belarus between June 21-30 and with Ireland sending a team of 65 athlete’s.

The European Games devised by former OCI president Pat Hickey was devised as a European Olympic Games and got off to a muted start in Baku four years ago.


Athlete’s Nelvin Appiah-Kondau and Gerard O’Donnell will become Ireland’s first athletic representatives in the European Games in the new “DNA Athletics” format.

“DNA Athletics” – dynamic new athletics, is described as “Mixed male and female teams with 8 women and 7 men compete over 9 events” with simple scoring.

Longford’s Nelvin Appiah-Kondau will compete in the high jump with Carrick-on-Shannon’s Gerard O’Donnell taking part in the 110m Hurdles.

Boxer, Castlerea’s Aoife O’Rourke competes in the Women’s middle-wieght division.

Katie Taylor having won Ireland’s first European Games gold medal in Baku four years ago.

The full Irish team is


Archery (1)

Maeve Reidy (Recurve)

Athletics (15)

Men (7)

Nelvin Appiah-Konadu (High Jump),

Brandon Arrey (4 x 400m),

Stephen Gaffney (100m),

Conall Kirk (Pursuit),

Andrew Mellon (4 x 400m),

Gerard O’Donnell (110m H),

Paul White (Pursuit).

Women (8)

Grace Casey (Javelin),

Ciara Deely (4 x 400m),

Sinead Denny (4 x 400m),

Victoria Harris (Pursuit Race),

Sarah Lavin (100m Hurdles),

Sophie Meredith (Long Jump),

Amy O’Donoghue (Pursuit Race),

Niamh Whelan (100m),

*Reserves (6): Paul Byrne, Luke Lennon-Ford, Kelly McGrory, Catherine McManus, Lily-Ann O’Hora, Moromoluwa Olusa

Badminton (6)

Singles (2)

Rachael Darragh (Singles),

Nhat Nguyen (Singles),

Doubles (4)

Chloe Magee (Mixed Doubles), Samuel Magee (Mixed Doubles),

Joshua Magee (Men’s Doubles), Paul Reynolds (Men’s Doubles).

Boxing (13)

Men (9)

Anthony Browne (Men’s Heavy -91kg),

Regan Daly (Men’s Light Fly -49kg),

Dean Gardiner (Men’s Super Heavy +91kg),

Brendan Irvine (Men’s Fly -52kg),

James McGivern (Men’s Light Welter -69kg),

Kieran Molloy (Men’s Welter -69kg),

Michael Nevin (Men’s Middle -75kg),

Kurt Walker (Men’s Bantam -56kg),

Joseph Ward (Men’s Light Heavy -81kg).

Women (4)

Kellie Harrington (Women’s Light -60kg),

Aoife O’Rourke (Women’s Middle -75kg),

Grainne Walsh (Women’s Welter -69kg),

Michaela Walsh (Women’s Feather -57kg).

Canoe Sprint (2)

Jenny Egan (Women’s K1 200, 500, 5000)

Ronan Hughes (Men’s K1 200, 500, 5000)

Cycling (16)

Road Men (5)

Mark Downey,

Conor Dunne,

Robert Jon McCarthy,

Ryan Mullen,

Michael O’Loughlin

Road Women (1)

Alice Sharpe

Track Men (5)

Mark Downey,

Felix English,

JB Murphy,

Marc Potts,

Fintan Ryan

Track Women (6)

Lydia Boylan,

Mia Griffin,

Lydia Gurley,

Shannon McCurley,

Robyn Stewart,

Orla Walsh

Gymnastics (2)

Emma Slevin (Women’s All-Around)

Adam Steele (Men’s All-Around)

Judo (3)

Nathon Burns (Men’s Half-light weight -66kg)

Ben Fletcher (Men’s Half-heavy weight -100kg)

Megan Fletcher (Women’s Middle weight -70kg)

Shooting (1)

Aoife Gormally (Women’s Shotgun Trap)