Donohue Names his Squad for International Matches

REPUBLIC of Ireland U15 Head Coach Jason Donohue has named his squad for a pair of friendly internationals against the Netherlands later this month.


The Irish youngsters will travel to the Netherlands to face their hosts in fixtures on Tuesday, January 31 (3.00pm Irish), and Thursday, February 2 (2.00pm Irish), for games at the KNVB training centre in Zeist.



Donohue and his staff will continue to work with the Irish players through this month to ensure they are prepared for the meetings with their Dutch counterparts. The Irish drew 0-0 and lost 2-1 in two games against Poland at this age group in November.


“With most of the players’ club seasons transitioning to operating in the calendar year format from now on we had to put a plan in place to keep the players ticking over during January in particular,” said Donohue.


“With the cooperation of the clubs, leagues and the SFAI’s assistance with All-Ireland cup fixtures, we’re bringing them in each weekend in January in preparation for the double-header against the Netherlands.


“We are using this as an opportunity to further look at players who played against Poland and after a centre of excellence assessment day over Christmas we have also made six changes from the squad that played in those games. Players were rewarded for good performances in the ETP programme.


“Within the weekends training in January we’ve analysed the Netherlands and we’re working on applying our principles of play within the four functions – defending, attacking and the transitions. Within that we’ve organised a training game against Paul Osam’s Ireland U16 squad and they will help us by setting up to play as we expect the Netherlands to play. That’ll help the players prepare for the demands of the games they’ll face in the double-header.


“Our objective in the Poland games was to make sure we could build out from the back competently and against Netherlands and we’ll try to progress that now and look to improve our play from midfield and in the final third while also keeping a good defensive structure.”



Conor Carty (St Francis FC)

Aaron Davies (Ratoath Harps)

Alex Dunne (Belvedere FC)

Ayodeji Sotona (Manchester United)

Jack Funge (St Kevin’s Boys FC)

James Furlong (St Joseph’s Boys FC)

Armstrong Okoflex (Arsenal)

Harry Halwax (Leixlip United FC)

Brandon Holt (Belvedere FC)

Cian Kelly (St Joseph’s Boys FC)

Sean Kennedy (Tralee Dynamos FC)

Seamus Keogh (Benbulben FC)

Kian Leavy (St. Francis FC)

Matthew Healy (College Corinthians)

Sean McEvoy (St Kevin’s Boys FC)

Troy Parrott (Belvedere FC)

Timi Sobowale (Villa FC)

Cormac Moore (St Francis FC)



U15 International Friendly

Tuesday, January 31

Netherlands v Republic of Ireland, KNVB Training Centre, Zeist (3.00pm Irish)


Thursday, February 2

Netherlands v Republic of Ireland, KNVB Training Centre, Zeist (2.00pm Irish)


Nominations announced for 2016 Continental Tyres Women’s National League Awards


The nominations for the 2016 Continental Tyres Women’s National League Awards have been announced.

The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday, January 12, 12.30pm, at the Guinness Storehouse, with two Shelbourne Ladies players nominated for Senior Player of the Year. Leanne Kiernan, who scored an impressive hat-trick in the Continental FAI Women’s Senior Cup final against Wexford Youths, takes her place next to team-mate Noelle Murray and Republic of Ireland international Karen Duggan for the prestigious award.  

Galway WFC’s Sadhbh Doyle and Peamount United’s Roma McLaughlin go up against Kiernan for the Young Player of the Year award, whilst Peamount striker Amber Barrett will be presented with the Irish Daily Mail Golden Boot award after scoring 16 goals during the 2016 campaign.


The 2016 Team of the Year features five Shelbourne players, as well as three UCD Waves players, Roma McLaughlin and Amber Barrett from Peamount and Chloe Moloney from Galway WFC. 


The nominations for the awards are as follows: 



Leanne Kiernan (Shelbourne Ladies)

Noelle Murray (Shelbourne Ladies)

Karen Duggan (UCD Waves)



Sadhbh Doyle (Galway WFC)

Leanne Kiernan (Shelbourne Ladies)

Roma McLaughlin (Peamount United)



Amber Barrett (Peamount United)



Amanda McQuillan (Shelbourne Ladies)

Jetta Berrill (UCD Waves)

Pearl Slattery (Shelbourne Ladies)

Chloe Moloney (Galway WFC)

Niamh Prior (UCD Waves)

Karen Duggan (UCD Waves)

Roma McLaughlin (Peamount United)

Noelle Murray (Shelbourne Ladies)

Leanne Kiernan (Shelbourne Ladies)

Amber Barrett (Peamount United)

Siobhan Killeen (Shelbourne Ladies)