Carnacon are All Ireland club champions

All-Ireland senior ladies club football final

Carnacon (Mayo) 0-15
Mourneabbey (Cork) 1-10

CORA Staunton kicked seven points before her Australian career is taking off next week in her final game  of gaelic football by captaining Carnacon to a sixth All-Ireland senior ladies club football title at Parnell Park on Sunday.


Runners-up in 2014 and 2015, and beaten semi-finalists last year, Mourneabbey suffered heartbreak again, as Carnacon won the title for the first time since 2013.

Scorers for Carnacon – C Staunton 0-7 (3f), M Carter, A Dowling & A Brennan 0-2 each, F McHale & E Cosgrave 0-1 each.

Scorers for Mourneabbey – D O’Sullivan 0-5 (4f), B O’Sullivan 1-1, R O’Sullivan, C O’Sullivan, E Jack & L Fitzgerald 0-1 each.

Carnacon – M Higgins; S McGing, M Carter, S Larkin; M Corbett, C Egan, D Hughes; F McHale, E Flannery; M McGing, A Dowling, L Dowling; A Brennan, C Staunton, E Cosgrave.

Subs – A McHale for Larkin (53).

Mourneabbey – M O’Sullivan; E Coakley, C.A. Stack, K Coakley; R O’Sullivan, E Meaney, A O’Sullivan; N O’Sullivan, M O’Callaghan; C O’Sullivan, B O’Sullivan, E Jack; L Fitzgerald, D O’Sullivan, E Harrington.

Subs – A Buckley for K Coakley (h.t.), C Lowlee for N O’Sullivan (49).

Referee – M Farrelly (Cavan)