Buccaneers 14 game unbeaten run comes to an end

Buccaneers 14 game unbeaten run came to an end away from home this afternoon when they were defeated by UCC by a solitary point by 13  points to 12 in the Mardyke in a keenly contested and entertaining contest this afternoon in Division 1B of the Ulster Bank league in a match played in perfect conditions.

report by Kevin McDermott

Buccs had lots of possession throughout the afternoon but couldn’t shake off their Cork opponents. The Athlone side trailed at the break by 10 points to 7. UCC got off to the perfect start when Kevin OKeefe crossed the line after 11 minutes and he then converted his own try from the touchline. Okeefe proved he had his scoring boots on when he increased their lead to 10 nil on 26 minutes when he scored a penalty. Buccs kicked many penalties into touch as they searched for tries.

Buccaneers put themselves back within touching distance of their opponents on 39 minutes when Evan Gavin got a try for the visitors which was converted.

In the 58th Minute UCC added another 3 points to their total with another Kevin OKeefe Penalty. Buccs kept pressing forward in the face of great defence from UCC. Buccs put just a point between them with a 11 minutes to go when Eoghan OReilly got a try wide on the right.

But they couldn’t overtake the Munster side to claim victory and they’ve 3 games remaining to get the 6 points needed to claim the title and promotion to the top tier.

The Mardyke:  U.C.C.    13                                 Buccaneers      12

Scorers:  U.C.C.:   Tries: Kevin O’Keefe;  Pen: Kevin O’Keefe (2) ;  Con: Kevin O’Keefe

       Buccaneers:   Tries: Evan Galvin, Jamie Dever ;  Con: Callum Boland

U.C.C.: 1. Shane O Hanlon, 2. Emmett McCarthy, 3. Rob O’Donovan, 4. Ben Mitchell, 5. Daragh Moloney , 6. Conor Barry, 7. Cathal Gallagher, 8. Paul Derham, 9. Charlie O’Regan, 10. Tom Kiersey, 11. James Kiernan, 12. Paul Kiernan, 13. Kevin Slater, 14. Kevin O’Keefe, 15. Richie Walsh, SUBS: 16. Ciaran Mc Hugh, 17. Tadgh McCarthy, 18. Eddie Earle, 19. Dara Feeney, 20. Richie Moran, 21. Chris McAuliffe

Buccaneers: 1. Jamie Dever, 2. John Sutton, 3. Martin Staunton, 4. Danny Qualter, 5. Ruari Byrne, 6. Stephen McVeigh, 7. Evan Galvin, 8. Kolo Kiripati (Capt.), 9. Conor Mc Keon, 10. Shane O’Leary, 11. Jordan Conroy, 12. Eoin Griffin, 13. Shane Layden, 14. Rory O’Connor, 15. Luke Carty, SUBS: 16. Shane Delahunt, 17. Rory Grenham, 18. Mata Fifita, 19. Frankie Hopkins, 20. Eoghan O’Reilly 21. Callum Boland