Two TD’s from Shannonside region vote against abortion legislation

Two TDs from across the three Shannonside constituencies voted against the legislation to introduce abortion in Ireland.

The Dáil passed the bill last night by 90 votes to 15 with 12 abstentions – and now goes to the Seanad for final approval.

Although the Termination of Life During Pregnancy Bill did as expected get through the lower house last night, it was not without again expected contentious debate with even the rights of TDs to ask questions and seek clarification on the 61 amendments proposed proving controversial.


Shannonside TDs Michael Fitzmaurice, Eugene Murphy, Tony McLaughlin, Eamonn Scanlon and Marc McSharry among those with notable contributions.

As the roll call was announced last night, political representatives from Longford Westmeath, Roscommon Galway and Sligo Leitrim took different stances.

Just four, actually voted for the bill, Fine Gael’s Peter Burke and Tony Mc Laughlin, Fianna Fail’s Robert Troy and Sinn Fein’s Martin Kenny.Independent Michael Fitzmaurice voted no as did Fianna Fail’s Marc McSharry.

Fianna Fail representatives Eamonn Scanlon and Eugene Murphy abstained.
Labour’s Willie Penrose, and Independents Denis Naughten and Kevin Boxer Moran were not present in the house for the vote.

The government is hoping for a smooth transition in the Seanad so that abortion services can be available in Ireland in January next.