Shannonside region’s three new Ministers of State take up their new roles today

Three TDs from the Shannonside region are among the new Junior Ministers getting to work this morning after being appointed yesterday.

In all there are seven new Ministers from Fianna Fail, seven from Fine Gael and three from the Green Party.

Longford Westmeath TD Peter Burke is now Minister of State Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, with responsbilbity for Local Government and Planning.

Joining him from Longford Westmeath will be the newly appointed Minister of State Robert Troy who will be assigned to the Department of Enterprise, Trade and Employment.

Fine Gael TD for Sligo Leitrim and North Roscommon Frank Feighan is being assigned to the Department of Health with responsibility for Public Health, Well Being and National Drugs Strategy.

He says he’s honored to be taking up the role.

The appointments has not gone smoothly for the new administration, with high profile TDs Jim O’Callaghan, Joe McHugh and John Paul Phelan all turned down offers of Junior Ministries.

While there’s been sharp criticism of Taoiseach Micheál Martin from TD Michael Moynihan, who served as Fianna Fáil whip in the last Dáil.

He’s said the Taoiseach has insulted him and the entire community of northwest Cork by passing him over for a role.