Roscommon’s 3 Senators own 13 properties between them

Newly filed returns show Roscommon’s three senators own 13 properties between them.

Fianna Fáil’s Terry Leyden has six, while Fine Gael’s duo Maura Hopkins and Frank Feighan have four and three respectively.

The Oireachtas has just released the 2018 edition of the Register of Members Interests for the Seanad, which includes shares, directorships and property owned by senators.


In terms of property, Senator Leyden is the best off of the local representatives.

He owns a house, farm and pub at Castlecoote and four properties or land in Roscommon town – two-and-a-half acres at Creevy, a cottage at The Walk and two houses in Goff Street.

Ballaghaderreen’s Maura Hopkins has four entries – she owns a house in Kilmainham, Dublin, which she uses as her base in the capital while on Seanad duty.

According to the register, she also owns two houses in Castlerea, where she also purchased 61 acres of farmland last November.

Boyle’s Frank Feighan declared an interest in three properties, all which are leased – a commercial premises in Boyle, formerly McDonagh’s newsagents, along with apartments in Dromod, Co Leitrim, and Budapest.