LE19: Adjudication on doubtful ballots underway in Roscommon


Candidates and their agents have begun their meeting with the returning officer, Shane Tiernan, to discuss his decision  regarding doubtful votes.

Official counting has just begun for the three areas after initial sorting of ballots. In Roscommon area, as it currently stands, sitting councillors Paschal Fitzmaurice, Orla Leyden and Kathleen Shanagher are all set to be re-elected. Fianna Fáil are on course to take three seats, with Marty McDermott pulling over 1000 in a tally. A substantial vote of over 1332 for former councillor Tony Waldron will see him returned. The loss to the area will be Councillor Dominic Connolly, with 638 of a tally meaning he’ll lose his seat. The sixth seat will be fought out between Fine Gael’s only candidate, Gerry Coffey, and Councillor Nigel Dineen. Tallies at this stage would indicate Dinnen may have an edge over Coffey.

The Athlone LEA is more straightforward. Sitting councillors Tony Ward, Ivan Connaughton, John Naughton and John Keogh all likely to retain their seats. The final two seats will see geography come into play between sitting councillor Laurence Fallon and first-time candidates Dónal Kilduff, Séamus Kelly and Malachy Hand.

Outstanding performances and personal votes for John Cummins, Valerie Bryne and Michael Mulligan are sure to see them returned to Roscommon County Council with all of those returned. Liam Callaghan and Tom Crosby has also polled well with over 1000 first preferences in towns. Sitting councillor Joe Murphy, who has the next highest share of the vote, is likely to pick up enough transfers from poll toppers Byrne and Cummins to see him retain his seat.