Five new garda recruits hail from Roscommon and Leitrim

There are five gardai from the Shannonside region among the 201 new members who took part in yesterday’s passing out ceremony at Templemore garda training college.

Shane Connaughton , Patrick Goldrick , Padraig Downey, and Brian Neary are all from county Roscommon.

They’ll be stationed in Ashbourne, Crumlin, Thurles and Navan, respectively.


Dearbhla Gilhooly from Leitrim is also to be stationed at Navan garda station.

None of the gardai from yesterday’s ceremony have been appointed to stations in the Shannonside region.