Only five Garda superintendents to cover expanded Longford/Roscommon/Mayo division

It’s being reported that a maximum of just five Garda superintendents will be available to cover an expanded division in the Shannonside region.

The Mayo News is reporting that at last week’s meeting of the county’s Joint Policing Committee, Garda Chief Superintendent Tony Healy confirmed that just five senior gardai will cover the expanded Mayo, Roscommon and Longford division.

The expanded area is part of reforms announced by commissioner Drew Harris last year that will also see Sligo-Leitrim amalgamated with the Donegal Garda division.

It’s understood the five Superintendent roles will be broken down into three for community engagement, and one for crime and a superintendent in charge of governance.

Longford currently has two superintendents and Roscommon also has two, with a total of five across County Mayo.