Fianna Fáil seeking Seanad representation after no seat in Roscommon-Galway

With no representation in the Dail in Roscommon Galway, Fianna Fail will now look to ensure there’s continued representation in the Seanad.

The three new TDs come from the Independent benches, Michael Fitzmaurice and Denis Naughten and with the historic victory for Sinn Fein’s Claire Kerrane, there is now representative from traditional Fianna Fail Fianna Gael axis in the constituency.

However with Frank Feighan elected in the Sligo Leitrim, county Roscommon still has Fine Gael representation.


Sitting Senator Terry Leyden is understood to be making calls to shore up support for another bid for the Upper House, but he will be joined by Eugene Murphy who lost his seat in the constituency.

He spoke to Michael Martin on Sunday night and says that the leader acknowledged that the strategy to include a second candidate so close geographically did not work this time out: