Fianna Fail confirms chosen four to battle it out at Roscommon – Galway convention

Fianna Fáil has confirmed four candidates have decided to let their names go forward for the party’s general election selection convention in the Roscommon-Galway constituency.

Three of the candidates are Roscommon-based – sitting TD Eugene Murphy, Councillor John Keogh and Seán Óg Higgins, the chairman of the county’s branch of Ógra Fianna Fáil.

The only Galway-based candidate is Councillor Michael Connolly, from Moylough.

It’s expected a convention will take place before the end of January, with a two-candidate strategy likely.

The surprise omission is Councillor Orla Leyden, who previously declared her she would run.

But she now says she didn’t expect a convention to be held so soon and has decided to pull out because of the demands of being Roscommon County Council Cathaoirleach at present.