Nine candidates put their name forward for Fine Gael convention in July

The deadline for the nominations for the Sligo/Leitrim Fine Gael selection convention closed yesterday evening.

Nine candidates have put their name forward; Senator Frank Feighan, former TD Gerry Reynolds, former TD and Minister John Perry, former Senator Michael Comiskey, Chairman of the Fine Gael Constituency Executive in Sligo/Leitrim Noel Merrick, Cllrs Sinead McGuire and Hubert Keaney, Fine Gael representative Blaine Gaffney and Eddie Mitchell, from Manorhamilton, who was prominent in the Love Leitrim anti-fracking campaign.

The convention will take place in the Clayton Hotel in Sligo, on July 19th.