Former Shannonside county councillors to be paid over €500k in retirement gratuities

County Councils in the Shannonside region will pay out over half-a-million euro to former councillors who retired, or did not contest May’s local elections.

Local representatives whom who bowed out at May’s local elections are to receive retirement gratuities of at least 6 million euro in total.

Councillors who lost their seats in May, or who decided not to contest the election, are entitled to a lump sum based on their experience on the local authority

According to details released under Freedom of Information, most of the payments have been processed for the Shannonside region, where a total of eleven councillors were entitled to the parachute payment.

However, only those who are aged fifty and over will take up the payments and Councillors pay tax on all payments.

Roscommon County Council’s total parachute payments to ex-councillors come to a total of €209,000, in Longford the total was €171,000 and in Leitrim the total was above €127,000.

Topping the list is Longford’s Luie McEntire, who was paid just under 80-thousand euro in June.

He thinks his payment is justified, given he was 40 years on the council:

The largest payment due to a former councillor in Leitrim is to Sinead Guckian, who is due to receive over €65,000 from the local authority, while in Roscommon, the largest payment was made to Dominick Connolly, who received €56,000

Roscommon County Council:

Dominick Connolly €56,414,57
Paddy Kilduff, ` €50, 946,28
Rachel Doherty €50,946.28
Michael Creaton €50,946.28

Longford County Council
Mae Sexton €40,476.65
Luie McEntire €79,882.34
Martin Mulleady €51,180 (preserved)

Leitrim County Council:

John McCartin €34,017.30
Sinead Guickian €65,715.86 includes Ex-Gratia Payment
Seadhna Logan €17,078.77
Caroline Mulvey €10,974.36