Up to eight Shannonside politicians hopeful of Seanad bid

Several Fine Gael and Fianna Fail politicans are declaring their interest in securing a seat in Seanad Eireann as the deadlines for nominations to the various panels in the Upper House approach in the coming weeks.

In Longford Fine Gael are putting forward Micheal Carrigy who ran unsuccessfully in the general election for a party nomination.

Fianna Fail is apparently going to have a total of four people running from Longford and Westmeath with outgoing Westmeath Senators Aidan Davitt and Paul Daly now looking set to be joined by Westmeath councillor Aengus O’Rourke, and Longford councillor Mick Cahill who’s been nominated for the Administration Panel by the local government representative body the AILG.


Roscommon Galway sees at least three people interested in trying for a Seanad seat, with Fianna Fail general election candidate Orla Leyden having received a nomination for the Labour panel, and Eugene Murphy looking for a party nomination to run.

Fine Gael general election candidate Aisling Dolan has been chosen to go for the Fine Gael party nomination there, with outgoing Senator Maura Hopkins indicating she wouldn’t be going forward again at this time.

Roscommon Independent Councillor Nigel Dineen is also nominated by Oireachtas members to go forward on the Commercial panel.

Former Senator Michael Comiskey and Leitrim council Cathaoirleach Enda McGloin were both chosen to go forward for nomination at a party meeting in Sligo on Monday night but councillor McGloin has since withdrawn his name.

It’s not know if there is anyone going forward in Sligo/Leitrim for a Fianna Fail nomination, or whether any Independent might be nominated by an outside body.