Granard loses councillor in boundary redraw

The municipal district of Granard will lose a councillor at the next local elections.

At present, the municipal districts of Granard, Ballymahon and Longford each have six councillors.

But in a newly published report, the local electoral area boundary committee recommends Granard be reduced to five, with Longford increasing to seven.


The size of the Longford municipal district will increase, with areas such as Breanrisk and Corboy to be included.

Ballymahon will remain with six councillors.

The changes will take effect for next May’s local elections.

The composition of the new electoral areas in Longford has been revealed
The composition of the new electoral areas in Longford has been revealed

The committee is recommending no changes in County Roscommon, with the present Athlone, Boyle and Roscommon municipal districts to continue, each with six councillors.

Equally, the status quo will remain in Leitrim, with the electoral areas of Carrick-on-Shannon, Ballinamore and Manorhamilton to remain with six councillors each.

There will some changes in Westmeath – at present, there are seven councillors in Athlone and six in both Mullingar-Coole and Mullingar-Kilbeggan.

In next year’s local elections,  there will be four electoral areas – Athlone will be cut to five councillors; Moate will have four; Mullingar will have six; Kinnegad will have five.

However, there will continue to be only two municipal districts: Athlone-Moate, comprising Athlone and Moate local electoral areas; and Mullingar-Kinnegad, comprising Mullingar and Kinnegad local electoral areas.

The total number of councillors in Westmeath will remain unchanged, similar to in Longford, Leitrim and Roscommon.

The full report can be read here: