MacSharry: Fianna Fáil to stand Leitrim candidate in election

Fianna Fáil TD Marc MacSharry believes his party will definitely stand a candidate from Leitrim in the next general election.

The nominations process for the Sligo-Leitrim constituency will close this evening, with a selection convention to be held later this month.

In the last election, Fianna Fáil stood three candidates in the four-seat constituency, with Deputy MacSharry and Eamon Scanlon successful.


Carrigallen-based councillor Paddy O’Rourke lost on that occasion, but has confirmed he wants to be on the ticket again, and it’s understood Drumsna-based councillor Sinead Guckian is also interested.

Deputy MacSharry expects the party to adopt a similar strategy as the last time.