Fianna Fáil begins selection process in Sligo-Leitrim

The race to win a Fianna Fáil nomination for the next general election in the Sligo-Leitrim constituency has begun.

Members have received their nomination papers in the post over the past few days.

To be nominated, candidates must receive the support of five Fianna Fáil party members or one registered cumann before the deadline of next Wednesday, February 7th.


A date hasn’t been set for the selection convention, but it’s likely to take place this month.

The four-seat constituency will include all Sligo and Leitrim, along with part of south Donegal and a population of 7,800 in north Roscommon.

It’s understood Cootehall-based councillor Rachel Doherty has ruled herself out of the running, but Carrick-on-Shannon councillor Sinead Guckian is interested in standing.

The party has two sitting TDs in Sligo-Leitrim – Marc MacSharry and Eamon Scanlon.