24 Shannonside schools win science and maths awards

24 schools in the Shannonside region are to be presented with awards for their work in promoting Maths, science, and technology as well as engineering in the classroom.

The STEM awards were announced this week by Minister for Enterprise Frances Fitzgerald.

These awards are run by the Science Foundation Ireland Discover Science and Maths Award and aim to foster a love for science, technology, engineering and maths, also known as STEM among pupils at primary school level in Ireland.

To qualify, schools are required to keep a log of STEM activities that they have undertaken throughout the academic year and which involved the whole school. Schools are awarded credit for visiting Discover Science Centres, carrying out their own experiments,

Six schools in Leitrim took will be accepting an award including Drumlease National School

Drumeela National Schoo, Ballaghameehan National School, Scoil Mhuire, Carrick-on-Shannon, Scoil Náisiúnta Mhic Dhiarmada and Masterson National School

In Longford, seven schools are to pick an award including St Matthews NS, Melview NS, Abbeylara NS, St Michael’s Boys national school, Fermoyle Mixed National school, Scoil Bhride and St john’s National School.

In Roscommon, 11 schools and their pupils will be picking up awards for their efforts in the classroom, including Castlesampson National School, St Patrick’s National School, Threen NS, St John’s NS, Rahara NS, Athleague NS, Roxboro, St Michael’s School, Strabraggan NS and Abbey National School.