Roscommon Soccer teams experience mixed results in Connacht Cup & Shield


Teams from the Roscommon and District league were in action in the first rounds of the Connacht Cup and Connacht Shield over the weekend and as expected there was a mixed bag of results and fortunes for the local teams.

Division 1 side Cloonfad United had a very impressive 2 – 1 win over the Mayo Super league side Ballyheane away at Ballyheane. There were no goals in normal time but in extra time Conor Freeley and Sean Doyle gave Cloonfad United a 2 – 0 lead before Paddy Burke pulled a goal back for the losers.


Premier side Shiven Rovers beat Tuam Celtic 4 – 1 at Newbridge. Eric Walsh and Michael Doyle scored two each for the winners.

In an all Premier Division clash at Ballymoe the home side  beat St Johns Athletic 5 – 4 in a penalty shootout after the game finished level at 2 – 2. St Johns went 2 – 0 ahead thanks to Sean Dervin and Tommie Hurley but two late goals from Maurice Connaughton sent the game to extra time and penalties.

Ballinasloe Town beat the Galway League Division 1 side West Coast United 5 – 1 at Ballinasloe. Joe Woods headed Ballinasloe into the lead before half time and after the break Owen Mc Cormack scored two and David Cullen and David Grehan one each for the winners.

Division 1 side Dysart were beaten 5 – 1 at home by the Mayo Super league side Castlebar Celtic. The visitors who were playing with the wind raced into a 3 – 1 lead, and while Johnny Waldron pulled a goal back the eventual winners went on to score two late goals.

Kilkerrin United were beaten 5 – 0 away to the Galway Premier Division side Corrib Rangers.

In an all Premier Division Clash at Taughmaconnell Moore United advanced to the next round with a 4 – 0 win over Skyvalley Rovers. Paul Kelly and David O Brien gave Moore a 2 – 0 half time lead and David O Brien and Mark Nicholson added two more after the break.

Dunmore Town lost 4 – 1 at home to the Mayo League Premier Division winners Straid and Foxford United. Calum Manhire scored for Dunmore.


Castlerea Celtic got a walk over Westport United “B” while Brazukas failed to travel to Balymote Celtic.

In the Connacht Shield Cam Celtic had an impressive 3 – 1 win over Kinvara United at Cam. Gareth Mulligan gave Cam Celtic a deserved 2 – 0 lead before an own goal gave the Galway Division 1 side hope. However Ger Mc Colgan sealed a place for Cam in round two when he scored their third.

The Castleplunket side C P Ajax were beaten 2 – 1 at Galway by NUIG. Paul Mee scored for the Roscommon and District league Division 1 side.

Shiven Rovers second side were beaten following a penalty shootout by the Mayo Division 2 side Mulranny United. The game finished at 2 – 2 with Anthony Geraghty and Seamus Kelly scoring for the Newbridge side in normal time.

Cloonfad United beat Ballinagare 5 – 1 at Ballinagare. Aidan Dowd gave Ballinagare an early lead. Daryl Geraghty levelled the game before James Mc Donagh and Sean Ruane scored two each for Cloonfad.


Castlerea Celtic second side lost 5 – 3 at home to Dynamo Blues “B” Sven McGovern Patrick Sharkey and Cian Mahony scored for the losers.

Lough harps received a walk over Moylough while Division 2 leaders Strokestown United failed to travel to Castlebar Celtic “B”.

In the only game played in the Premier Division of the Roscommon and District league Ballaghaderreen beat Ahascragh United 5 – 1 at Ahascragh. The game was level at half time but Gerry Ward struck twice for Ballaghaderreen just after the restart. Lee Keenan added two more before Gerry Ward completed his hat trick. Joe Hunt pulled a goal back for Ahascragh United

Results 12th February

The Herald Premier Division

Ahascragh United                       1 – 5                                Ballaghaderreen FC

Joe Hunt                                                                           Gerry Ward 3 Lee Keenan 2


 T P Brennan Connacht Cup 1st Round

Westport United B                     0 – 2                                  Castlerea Celtic


Ballymote Celtic                    2 – 0                                      Brazukas


Ballinasloe Town                     5 – 0                                    West Coast United

Owen Mc Cormack 2Joe Woods

David Cullen David Grehan

Corrib Rangers                       5 – 0                                      Kilkerrin United


Ballyheane                              1 – 2                                      Cloonfad United

Paddy Burke                                                                        Conor Freeley Sean Doyle

Shiven Rovers                          4 – 1                                    Tuam Celtic

Eric Walsh 2 Michael Doyle 2

Ballymoe FC                             2 – 2 AET                                    St. John’s Athletic

Ballymoe win 5 – 4 on Pens

Maurice Connaughton 2                                                       Tommie Hurley Sean Dervin

Dunmore Town                              1 – 4                                Straide & Foxford Utd

Calum Manhire

Manor Rangers                            2 – 0                                   Glen Celtic


Dysart FC                                  1 – 5                                    Castlebar Celtic

John Waldron

Skyvalley Rovers                      0 – 4                                    Moore United

                                                                                                               Paul Kelly David O Brien 2

Mark Nicholson

 T P Brennan Connacht Shield First Round

Castlerea Celtic B                         3 – 5                                  Dynamo Blues B

Sven Mc Govern Patrick Sharkey

Cian Mahony



Cregmore/Claregalway                      2 – 0                             Hodson Bay Athletic




Shiven Rovers B                             2 – 2 AET                      Mulranny United

Mulranny win 5 – 4 pens

Anthony Geraghty Seamus Kelly



Dynamo Blues                            2 – 0                                    Loughglynn United



Castlebar Celtic B                     2 – 0                                       Strokestown United




Moylough ’79                           0 – 2                                      Lough Harps




Cam Celtic                               3 – 1                                      Kinvara United

Gareth Mulligan 2 Ger Mc Colgan



NUIG B                                   2 – 1                                      CP Ajax

Paul Mee




Ballinagare FC                      1 – 5                                         Cloonfad United B

Aidan Dowd                                                                        Daryl Geraghty

James Mc Donagh 2 Sean Ruane 2



Moy Villa                                  2 – 0                                     Dunmore Town B