Daly departs Roscommon Squad ahead of Donegal Match

Roscommon’s chances of success in the 2017 Allianz Football have been dealt a blow with the news that Niall Daly has left the squad.

Shannonside Sport understand that Daly took the decision to leave the squad earlier this week after not making the starting fifteen for Sunday’s vital Allianz Football league division one match with Donegal in Dr Hyde Park.

Daly who plays his club football with the  Padraig Pearses club and was a key member of the South Roscommon team that reached last year’s county final where they were beaten by St Brigid’s.


Daly started last weekend in Roscommon’s opening league match against Tyrone however he was substituted at half-time and after failing to retain his place on the starting fifteen for this weekend he has now decided to take some time out from inter-county football.

Donegal suffered a defeat against Kerry last week.  When it comes to selection for tomorrows match in the Hyde Neil McGee has been named to start. The three-time All-Star was a late withdrawal from the side which started the opening round defeat against Kingdom in Letterkenny.

McGee takes his place at full-back and comes in for Frank McGlynn who occupied that position against the Munster champions on Sunday last. Meanwhile, in attack, manager Rory Gallagher has handed a league debut to St Eunans’ Conor Gibbons at left half-forward ahead of Michael Langan.

Roscommon selector Ger Dowd has been speaking on Saturday Sport to John Lynch about the big match and about Niall Dalys decision to leave the panel

The Full Donegal team:

Mark Anthony McGinley;

Caolan Ward,

Neil McGee,

Paddy McGrath;

Eoghan Ban Gallagher,

Ryan McHugh,

Paul Brennan;

Jason McGee,

Hugh McFadden;

Ciaran Thompson,

Martin O’Reilly,

Conor Gibbons;

Patrick McBrearty,

Michael Murphy,

Jamie Brennan.