EPRC Deliver Confirmation of Connacht Rugby Result

The Champions Cup governing body the EPCR have ruled that Connacht’s dramatic try against Wasps on Saturday should not have been awarded, but to the relief of rugby fans in the West, the result from the Sportsground will still stand.

The Pro12 champions looked set to be heading for successive defeats to Wasps in Pool Two, but Fijian flanker Naulia Dawai struck for a try in injury-time to tie the score, before out-half Jack Carty slotted over the conversion to snatch a famous 28-18 victory for the Pat Lam’s mem and in the process kept alive their chances of qualification to the knockout stages of the competition.

 

Advertisement

The vital try came from a lineout which occurred when Carty kicked to touch after the clock showed 80 minutes.

The Connacht skipper John Muldoon asked the referee whether there was time for the throw in. The match official, who began the game as a touch judge and later replaced Jerome Garces after he was forced out of the match with a hamstring injury, informed Muldoon that they would have sufficient time.

 

The European Professional Club Rugby last night issued a statement to clarify that the lineout should not have been given.

“The assistant referee, who had taken over as match referee following an injury to Jerome Garces, awarded a penalty to Connacht after time had elapsed. Connacht kicked the ball into touch and from the resultant line-out, scored a converted try to win the game 20-18,” the statement read.

“However, as time had elapsed, Connacht should not have been permitted to take a line-out throw-in once the ball had been kicked into touch as stipulated in Law 5.7 (e) of World Rugby’s Laws of the Game.

“EPCR would like to thank all parties for their understanding and would also like to confirm that the result of the Pool 2 match stands.”