Festival of Sigerson Cup Action in store

For fans of the Higher Education Sigerson cup all roads will lead to the Connacht GAA Centre of Excellence this afternoon as the 2017 finals weekend will get under way.

The final weekend will be played for the first time ever outside of a major campus, and the event is a huge occasion for the Connacht council of the GAA to have the hour of staging.

John Lynch has been finding out more from John Tobin:



The Full schedule of events for over the weekend will be as follows:

 Friday 17th February 2017

12noon: Semi Finals of the Corn na Mac Léinn

RCSI                                       v          GMIT Letterfrack

UU Magee                              v          Liverpool Hope


1.30pm: Semi Final 1 Trench Cup

DkIT                                        v          IT Blanchardstown


2pm: Semi Final 1 of Sigerson Cup

St. Mary’s University College             v          UCC


3.30pm: Semi Final 2 of Trench Cup

Marino Inst                              v          Waterford IT


4pm: Semi-Final 2 of Sigerson Cup

UL                                           v          UCD


Saturday 18th February 2017

12noon: Final of Corn Comhairle Ardoideachais

Carlow Inst                              v Galway T.I.


12.30pm: Corn na Mac Léinn Final

1.00pm: Trench Cup Final

3pm: Sigerson Cup Final


Some information on the respective Sigerson Cup semi-finalists:



Team Managers: Billy Morgan & Tomas O’ Se

Players of Note: Michael Martin(Son of Micheal Martin), Jason Foley, Jack McGuire Adrain Spillane & Killian Spillane, Tom O’ Sullivan(Kerry) Ian Maguire & Brain O Driscoll(Cork)

St. Marys Belfast

Team Managers: Paddy Tally

Players of Note: Conor Meyler(Tyrone) Kevin McKernan(Down) Cathal McShane(Tyrone)


Team Managers: Brian Carson

Players of Note: Fergal Boland(Mayo) Michael Geaney(Kerry) Gearoid Hegarty(Limerick) Pearse Lillis(Clare)


Team Managers: John Divilly

Players of Note: Stephen Coen(Mayo)Michael Fitzsimons, Jack McCaffrey, Paul Mannion(Dublin), Jack Barry(Kerry), Eamonn Wallace(Meath), Niall McInerney& Sean Mullooly(Roscommon), Conor Cunningham(Galway)


Trench Cup

Dundalk IT

Team Managers: Oisin McConville

Players of Note: Kieran Duffy(Monaghan)

IT Blanchardstown

Team Managers: Val Andrews

Players of Note:


Team Managers: Tony Hegarty

Players of Note: Ciarain Murtagh(Roscommon), Des Conneely &Fiach O’ Bearra(Galway), Paul Brennan(Sligo)

Waterford IT

Team Managers:

Players of Note


Corn na MacLeinn

GMIT Letterfrack

Team Managers: Oliver O’ Neill

Players of Note:


Team Managers:

Players of Note: James Mulligan(Ballaghaderreen Mayo)Emmet Farrington(Kiltimagh)

Liverpool Hope

Team Managers:

Players of Note

UU Magee

Team Managers:

Players of Note


Corn Ardoideachais

Galway TI

Team Managers:

Players of Note

Carlow Inst

Team Managers:

Players of Note



Last Year’s winner: UCD

UCC Last won 2014

UL: Never won, second successive semi-final

St. Mary’s: Won 1989


Trench Cup

Last Years winners of the Trench Cup: Dundalk IT